Grape Cupcakes


Today I decided to make a special treat – a dessert after all that Nutriblast cleansing. I went for cupcakes. I haven’t made them in a little while and well, what can I say? I like cake!

I wanted something special with a hint of flavor in it – since my cherry – vanilla cupcakes were so successful so we took a vote on the next flavor, it came down to strawberry and grape. Guess what won? Yep, grape! No one’s ever tried a grape cake in our household. So I decided to flavor both the cake and the frosting with the grape, and colored each purple.

I used a different recipe this time around. I, as always, am sticking with the gluten free theme – and chose a recipe from Bob’s Red Mills website. This time substituting the flour for Bob’s Red Mill 1 to 1 gluten-free baking flour, I also added some purple coloring. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.


The frosting recipe I have no idea where it originally comes from, but we pass it around calling it “Mom’s Favorite Frosting.”

img_2525 This recipe is one we always add to, usually adjusting the quantities of sugar to taste and whipping until appropriate. I also added grape flavoring and purple coloring to the frosting to get the desired effect.

The last step was using this cool tool I bought that allows me to squeeze some of that frosting into the middle of the cupcake before then topping the cake with the rest of the frosting.

Viola – Finished result! Grape Cupcake!

img_2933

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

