Pastry Straws

I’ve been trying to figure out what to bring for a potluck for over a week now. I’ve thought of several things, one in particular, but when I finally thought of how to make it I realized it took far too much time! I ain’t got that much time to invest on a weeknight!

The one thing I did know is I wanted to work with puff pastry. I love the way puff pastry tastes. So airy and delightful, it makes you think you are eating ‘light.’ Oh how good that feeling is! I found a few interesting recipes for pastry straws and decided, hmm..I can try something similar to that, right?

My potluck isn’t until a weekday, but I haven’t tried to make pastry straws before so I figured I’d try these out on my family before I bring them to a potluck! Those lucky taste testers, they always get the goods!

The first thing I had to do was get the oven set at 425 degrees so it’ll be ready for those pastries. (We like it hot!)

 Next you’ll want to roll out your pastry sheet(s). Make sure to dust a little flour down first to prevent sticking!

This is where the recipe can be altered depending on your taste buds. I did THREE variations of these pastry straws.

The first was for a Cheese Pastry Straw, and I need a beaten egg, and Parmesan cheese.

Spread the egg wash over the pastry dough and sprinkle on the Parmesan cheese. Next cut the dough (I used a pizza cutter and it worked perfectly) in thin strips, which you are going to then twist up and lay out on a baking sheet.

Bake the twisted pastry dough, for approximately 10 – 12 minutes, or until done.

The second type I made was a Cinnamon Sugar Pastry Straw. For this I needed melted butter, cinnamon, and I used raw sugar.

I painted on the butter, and sprinkled on some sugar, and doused it with a bit of cinnamon. Following the same procedure as before sliced them thin, and twisted them up prior to baking for approx. 10-12 minutes.

The third type I made was the both simple to make, and quite messy. It involved grape jam! I spread the grape jam on the pastry sheet, cutting it into thin slices before twisting it up and throwing it in the oven.

I love grape jam! The biggest hit in our house, was the cinnamon, followed by the grape jam, and lastly for our savory cheese flavored pastry straw. Although we agreed they were all quite delicious, with just a hint of flavor, and nothing to overpowering for your taste buds!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

